‘Head Contusion,’ But Not a Concussion for Curry … OK

Did Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors suffer a concussion in that horrific fall on his back and neck last night in Game 4 of the Western Conference Finals?

We may never know the real truth.

What we do know is that Warriors general manager Bob Myers said Curry did not have a concussion. “If he did, he wouldn’t have played,” he told the media. “That’s a pretty hard line.”

The Warriors, like other teams, test for “brain function, via a neurological and cognitive assessment,” after a suspected concussion. The results of this are supposed to be compared to a baseline test taken during the pre-season.

The point is, basketball is not like football, or even soccer, where the risk of second-impact syndrome is significant for a concussed athlete. Therefore, the return-to-play options for a superstar basketball player may not be as stringent as for other sports.

The Warriors ultimately said Curry suffered a “head contusion.”

Regardless of what was the real diagnosis, Curry should have never returned to the game as he did last night. It was not worth the risk.

You be the judge. Here’s the video: http://www.sportsgrid.com/nba/steph-curry-takes-brutal-fall-on-his-head-in-houston/

This entry was posted in General, Other Sports, Professional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.